Feedback Loop

This is Frodo at work. He wants to hear about your needs.

I’m writing this between clients. Frodo and I are both squashed into my chair and wrapped in a blanket because my summer-long abject pleading to fix the AC in my office has, now that it is getting cold out, finally borne fruit. So it is approximately ten below in here, but now I’m too embarrassed to ask them to turn it up.

But that’s neither here nor there.

I’m taking some notes on what I’d like the blog to focus on in the weeks and months ahead. I very much want to become more regular with my entries and that means I need to find a way to stay engaged even when I’m not in desperate need of writing. My husband jokes that I write like pooping – if there is a great pressure and need then I’m writing like a champ, but it’s not the sort of thing I can just make happen when there’s no calling. I’ll end the metaphor there, but you get the idea.

So it occurred to me that what I’m really interested in is how I can be of help to other folks who are going through it. I feel like I’ve reached a point that, if it’s not the end at least is a great peaceful slowing and calming of all the grief and turmoil that drove me to write in the first place.

So what would feel helpful to you? Which particular part of this wretched bullshit is tormenting you, and what kind of support do you wish you could find? If there is enough interest, I’d be happy to start a sort of weekly Q&A here in the Catbox.

Let me know in the comments or send me an email at gillian.chachere@gmail.com.

6 thoughts on “Feedback Loop

  1. When you imagine the future, what do you see? When I eventfully have clients again (I hope IF /RPL etc clients) I want to be able to help them explore alternate futures without sounding like a patronizing ass…What happened that allowed you to move past the idea that only one version of the future is worthwhile? The passage of time …and what else? Xo

  2. Awww I had a cat named Frodo. Miss him every day!

  3. Rachel Bennett says:

    I don’t know if you’ve seen it on Facebook, but my wife has been very sick the last few months. She was at UCLA Medical Center for nearly three months and is now in a skilled nursing facility but is expected to make nearly a full recovery. So what I’m wondering is this. Seeing as how this experience has inevitably changed her and me, how do we continue to grow as a couple when neither one of us knows what either one of us will eventually become as a result?

Leave a Reply

